Weekly Recap 6/5-6/11

*Que Nelly* hot in here

It’s getting hot in here! HaHa. The temperature is rising here in KC and my training is too.  Increasing mileage slightly and extending my workout on Tuesday.  I may have went a tad overboard with the weights, but no harm no foul right? I got a little excited about all my extra time that I added a few extra exercises and ended up pretty sore Wednesday-Friday.  Not to mention, summer is kind of exhausting. In that awesome, so many adventures to be had kind of exhausting.

Before I get too crazy with my summer break brags, here is my weekly recap

Monday- 8.13 miles at 8:09 pace, total time 1:06:19f8c39b2d-b208-4d88-a20d-c0c530242f40

Went on a solo run at the Nature Conservation Center nearby.  I had intended to just get some easy running in, and the overall pace would suggest that is what I did. However, there is this darn hill segment on Strava that I just can’t seem to catch.  So I ran up and down that hill 5-6 time and completely gassed myself.  It was a good time, but not something I can do frequently as my training hopefully increases throughout the summer.

Tuesday- 10.38 miles at 7:04 pace, total time 1:13:19

Workout- 2 mile warm up, then 6 miles alternating pace.  Half mile at 7:00 minute pace and then 1 mile at 6:00-6:10 pace. 2 mile cool down

Great workout, a definite step up from last week, basically doubling the time I spent in the faster zone, without changing the recovery at all.  I had a running buddy join me for the first portion and then he rode his bike with me along the second portion. I found a fun Strava Segment to give myself an extra challenge on the last one.  Nailed it! Ha.

img_3347After the run, I headed to the gym.  I included the workouts that my coach sent me, and then added some additional arm and abdominal pieces. I definitely felt that for the next few days.

 

 

 

Wednesday-4.05 miles at 7:38 pace, total time 30:53

                     4.08 miles at 8:05 pace, total time 32:58

I kind of doubled today, but not really.  I wanted to check out the new KC Endurance Treadmill Studio, and they were hosting a group run for Global Running Day.  The route was 4 miles then some light drinks and snacks after.  Mostly, it was fun hanging out with some area runners before they all headed off to work.  Then I headed out for the second portion of my run.

Thursday-*Garmin reads*6.12 miles at 8:47 pace, total time 53:49

Evening run through the high school cross country course and trails.  I am not very experienced in trail running and these seemed like some pretty legit single track trails.  My last adventure on some trails ended with me face first into a tree, and a pretty good knock to the knee.  So I am happy to report a much happier outcome this time around.  As normal, I think the Garmin reading of the trail distance and pace is a bit off.

Friday-7.03 miles at 7:50 pace, total time 54:59img_3294

Met up with a couple running buddies for some super easy and flat miles, then breakfast.  After breakfast I headed to the gym for some more strength training.  Cutting back from my Tuesday session, but still feeling a bit sore when I was done.

 

 

Saturday-15 miles at 7:27 pace, total time 1:51:45

Solo long run for me.  I’ll admit the hotter weather had me dreading this run. I decided to head to a lake trail nearby so that the shade would keep me a tad cooler.  I’ve only been to the trail once and it’s just a couple miles away. There were a couple Strava segments along the course, as well, which helped break up the longer run into fun, smaller pieces.  I did make a mistake and ended up at the wrong exit, making my run about a mile longer than planned.  Oops!

Sunday-Scheduled Rest Day      

Rest day for this girl, I’ll be firmly planted next to the pool all day with some sort of drink in hand. Just got some new draft ciders to try. Summer break is my favorite!

Total Weekly Mileage- 54.7

Another awesome week is in the books.  I am really starting to get antsy for a race. I get a serious case of FOMO (Fear of Missing Out) when I see all my running buddies post about their races.

How was your week? What’s next on your schedule?

 

The RunCanvas Giveaway ends this week! Be sure to like our Facebook page to be entered to win.  Tag two running buddies or share the giveaway for additional chances

img_3188

2 thoughts on “Weekly Recap 6/5-6/11

  1. I have zero races until the big day–my first BQ attempt! I love racing but when I have a big goal, I tend to like keeping my eye on the big prize, lol! Great week of running for you!! I think that’ll be my peak mileage, LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I like to sprinkle in practice races every 4-6 weeks. The shorter races like 5k/10k I just use a part of a much longer work out. I think of racing as another skill I need to practice and improve on. It helps drive my training and gauge progress along the way, for me. I def don’t taper or adjust training for practice races

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

