Happy Monday! I am in such a good mood this morning, especially compared to the grump I was last week.  It’s dark and drizzly here, but getting my runs in this weekend and looking forward to a couple tough speed days this week has me amped!


Here is my weekly Recap

Monday-Unscheduled Rest Day

Last Monday, I was still working on the img_2698ankle.  I was pretty confident I could run a little bit but followed the guidance of my Physical Therapist and patiently waited one more day.

On Monday morning, I got a little gift from my secret pal at work, we call them “eagle pals”.  I was shocked, someone in my building is extremely thoughtful and they even took the time to personalize it with my Bib number.  I absolutely love it!

Tuesday- 2 miles at 7:29 pace, total time 14:52

 I started this test run out really easy, probably 9 minutes per mile and picked it up a little each lap.  I just wanted to test out how it felt.  When I first started it kind of felt awkward, like I was learning to run again.  Very quickly, I was comfortable and chatting it up without much worry.

Wednesday-6.02 miles at 7:41 total time 46:13

 Ready to run! Spent some time in physical therapy doing some hopping and skipping tests, tried out some running at different speeds and got the green light to go for a run.  Felt great and I couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful day to run.  After my run, I took my four year old daughter to track practice with me, she tells me she wants to jump the “gurdles” when she’s big.  You know, the “girl hurdles.” Ha Ha!

img_2734Thursday- 8.13 miles at 7:46 pace, total time 1:03:10

Another beautiful day to run.  I felt so smooth and easy, I didn’t want to stop.  I could probably have happily squeezed in a twenty miler.

 

 

 

img_2723

Friday-6.17 miles at 7:57 pace, total time 49:02

 It rained all afternoon and we had lightening during track practice.  I was certain I was going to be stuck on the dreadmill for this run.  I was happily surprised that just as practice ended, so did the rain and I got some really pretty views along the lake.

 

 

Saturday- 19 miles at 6:53 pace, total time 2:10:43

 Prescribed workout- 4 miles at 7:15 pace, 4 miles at 7:00 pace, 4 miles at 6:45 pace, 4 miles at 6:30 pace and 2 miles at 6:15 pace.  I added on a cool down mile.img_2737

Workout long run!  I love these types of run/workouts.  I would vote for
long runs workouts over easy long runs.  I found the 6:30 pace to be the hardest.  Not because the actual pace was harder, but because I knew I still had 2 miles at a faster speed to do after.  Once I got to the 6:15, I knew I was almost done.  Running is such a mind game.  I felt good during the run, but had some embarrassing tummy issues when the run was over.  Spent some extra time in the porta-potty.

Sunday-4.05 miles at 7:55 pace, total time 32:02

               4.12 miles at 8:16 pace, total time 34:04

A friend and I went out to watch a local 10k race that some friends were racing in.  We got the first 4 miles in before the race and then another 4 miles as they were racing.

I guess it’s kind of taper time, now. I will be getting in some extra speed sessions and keeping my long run this week.  I can’t say I am feeling as confident as I would like too.  This training cycle has felt like a roller coaster ride of  good and bad.   That’s probably normal, though.  I am definitely thinking a lot more about goal times and beginning to wonder what race day weather will bring. 3 more weeks!

Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “2017 week 12 recap-> 4 weeks until Boston Marathon

  1. Looks like a great week of workouts! Glad the PT helped with the foot issues and you got some solid, strong, and speedy runs in this week. Can’t wait to see how well Boston goes, and that gift is so neat! Love that you even have your bib number on it :).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

