2017 week 7 recap-9 weeks before Boston Marathon!

img_2503

I am so excited, I was finally able to break the 70 mile per week barrier! This week was my biggest weakly mileage to date.  I am guessing with eight more weeks until the Boston Marathon, it may not be my peak. The best part is, I feel great.  I am looking forward to more opportunities to grow and improve during this training cycle.

Here is my weekly recap

Monday- 8.02 miles at 7:56 pace, total time 1:03:36

 Legs felt a little heavy on this run.  I got started later than I normally would have wanted to, which always throws me off.  I can’t help it, I am a huge creature of habit.  Pretty uneventful dull run.  You’re going to have those sometimes. img_2487

Tuesday- 8.02 miles at 7:38 average pace, total time 1:01:38

Track workout 2 mile warm-up, 3×300 meter (200 meter jogging recovery, 1500 meter total per set) 3 minutes rest between sets, 3 mile cool down.

Splits (:54, :58, :55) (:55, :56, :57)(:54, :59, :57).

 Hello Valentines Day candy, I ate way too much junk today.  I was a bit nervous I was going to be sick during this workout.  Luckily, I made it through without a problem.  I was lucky, and once again my friend joined me for the workout.  It helps keep me consistent through these intervals.  The weather was great for a speed day, a bit of wind on the back stretch but not too bad.  We both finished thinking we had another set.  We felt so good, we couldn’t believe the workout was over.  That’s a great feeling!

Wednesday- 11.0 miles at 7:40 pace, total time 1:24:15

I always look forward to joining KC Running companies group run, and this week did not disappoint. I knew with the increased mileage I needed to keep the pace easy, it is so hard following my speed workouts.  I’m not sure why.  With a few reminders, I was able to get a good easy medium run in.

I completed some basic strength exercise before heading to the group run.  I knew drinks and food were a good possibility before the group run, so I got them out of the way first.  Usually, I complete these after my run. This week included 2 sets of; squats, bent over rows, lunges, skips and fast feet.

Thursday-10.0 miles at 8:05 pace, total time 1:22:33

Had a friend come over and join me for my run today.  We got to enjoy unusually warm February weather on our run.  It was a nice casual pace and overall, it went by pretty quickly.  We had two cars shout obnoxious obscenities at us along the route, perks of living by a high school I guess?

Friday-4.03 miles at 8:22 pace, total time 33:39

This was not a good day, I woke up pretty certain I was coming down with the flu.  I had a headache, chills and felt like I got hit by a bus.  I climbed out of bed and slogged through 4 miles before deciding I was done. I was hopeful I could get an easy run in the evening to complete my miles for the day.  That didn’t happen.  I barely was able to eat dinner and fell asleep by 7 pm.  I was out like a rock.

Saturday- 16.5 miles at 7:12 pace, total time 1:59:02

Workout 4 miles warm up, 2×4 miles (6:35-6:40 pace), 4 miles cool down.

 Splits (6:35, 6:26, 6:38, 6:35) (6:32, 6:34, 6:36, 6:32)

It is amazing what 12 plus hours of sleep can do.  I woke up feeling so much better and ready to conquer my run.  A large turn out today at the local running trail and lots of people getting in some solid workouts.  It was very motivating.  We started the run as a group and through the warm up, as different groups began their different workouts, they began to break into smaller groups.  I was lucky to have a couple guys join me for some or all of my workout. Work outs are always easier with company. I felt pretty good through this run.  When we hit mile 12 and ready to begin the cool img_2501down, I felt relaxed and not tired.  This was a large confidence boost for me.  Long runs should always be celebrated with food! Breakfast after was the best part.

When I got home, I completed some more core/strength exercises from my coach. 2 sets of; planks, side planks, push-ups, skips and single leg hops.

Sunday- Double Dip

               Morning run 4.25 miles at 7:52 pace, total time 33:26

               Afternoon run 8.01 miles at 7:55 pace, total time 1:03:24

Split up the run to help recover easier. I felt a little tired during the morning run, legs took a bit to get going.  I was glad I only planned for 4 miles.  Luckily, by the afternoon I felt normal and was able to enjoy another warm February day.

 

Total miles -70

This was a great week.  The weather was awesome and the workouts completed left me feeling strong and confident.  Getting through that 70 mile per week barrier felt good too.  I can’t wait to see what coach has for me next!

Thanks for reading, check out my other posts!  Tomorrow I will be posting Chapter 4, in my “Runners for Dummies” series.  If you missed them, check out the previous chapters!

Runners for dummies-Chapter 1, Types of runners

Runners for Dummies-Chapter 2 Don’t honk at the runners! Plus, other tips to keeping your runner happy

Runners for Dummies- Chapter 3 Running Circles in Parking Lots, and Other Odd Runner Behaviors

Be sure to share, comment and subscribe!!!!!!

3 thoughts on “2017 week 7 recap-9 weeks before Boston Marathon!

Leave a Reply

