Product Review-Wyldewood Cellar Elderberry Concentrate

Wyldewood Cellars Elderberry Concentrate

12.5 FL oz. bottle=$21.99 @ Natural Grocers (cost and availability at the time of writing review)

About this Product

  • Rich in Antioxidants
  • Natural Source of Ruthin and Vitamin C
  • No high fructose corn syrup
  • No added sugar
  • No Alcohol
  • Non-GMO
  • Pesticide Free

Know somebody dealing with a cough, cold or flu?  Of course you do, it’s going around like crazy right now.  Unfortunately, I was wiped out last week with a nasty respiratory infection and left unable to run.  My sister picked up a bottle of Wyldewood Cellars Elderberry Concentrate from our local Natural Grocers, so I could be on my way to a quick recovery.

Why Elderberry?

Elderberry is a dark blueish-purple berry that has many health benefits. Studies have shown elderberry to have a significant impact on respiratory health. Studies have shown that elderberry can shorten the duration and severity of cold, flu and sinus infections.  Elderberry contains more vitamin C than an orange and has the highest ORAC score of any fruit, three times more than blueberries.  Elderberry is rich in antioxidants that help protect the mucus membranes, and reduce inflammation. Elderberry contains magnesium, which also supports the immune system, increases energy and improves muscle and nerve function.  Elderberry contains anthocyanins, which protect blood vessels from oxidative stress/damage.  This is great for aiding runners and other athletes in recovery and improving circulation.

Product Review

This product is 100 % pure elderberry.  The recommended serving is 1 teaspoon a day.   While I was sick I upped my intake to 1 teaspoon twice a day.  The only ingredients for this product is elderberry concentrate and filtered water.  Because of this, the taste is very tart, not a hint of sweetness.  I wasn’t particularly fond of the flavor, so I decided to try a variety of things to mix it in.  These were some of my favorites

  • 8 oz. water, 1 teaspoon Elderberry concentrate + sweetener – I tried this diluted version with both Stevia and honey. Both tasted good, I preferred the Stevia a tad bit more over the honey
  • 1 can of lemon lime soda+1 teaspoon Elderberry Concentrate- This was my favorite of the different recipes that I tried. You can use any lemon-lime soda, my sister recommended Blue Sky Organic Soda as a healthier alternative to other name brand sodas and I enjoyed it very much.  As a runner, however, I do limit my soda consumption so I only tried this recipe once.
  • 8 oz. grape juice+ 1 teaspoon Elderberry Concentrate- This was the recipe I drank the most of. I used Knudsen Organic White Grape Juice, but I am confident this would mix well with any grape juice.
  • Added to smoothies- I added 1 teaspoon to my green smoothie that had mixed berries for added sweetness and I really enjoyed it. The flavor of the elderberry blended perfect with the frozen berries that I blended in. I will play around with more varieties.

Conclusion-

The taste of this product, by itself was tolerable. Considering the health benefits, I would have no problem taking it daily.  When added with the simple recipes I included above, I really enjoyed it.  All of them were extremely simple.  I would recommend.

I hope you liked this review! Check out my other posts!  I appreciate all feedback, likes, comments and shares! Have a great day!

 

Leave a Reply

